Welcome to the Kodexa Support Portal

**Extension Pack Administration

Written by David Cohen
Updated 7 months ago

 If you have a SaaS or other Managed Environment, you will not need to utilize this except in the case of a request by Kodexa Support.

 Kodexa Clients are able to code your own extension pack after some training.

An extension pack allows for new features, bug fixes and other enhancements to Kodexa without having to take an entire release. An extension pack also generally allows access to one or more Assistants that are used when creating or modifying a Project. From time to time, you may be asked to deploy new, or upgrade existing, versions of one or more extension packs (EPs).

Note 1: You do not want to have more than once version of a given EP in your environment. Always be sure there is only one instance of each EP.

Note 2:  After Clicking  the 3-dot menu options and using any of the options, wait 3-5 minutes to allow the desired process to properly complete.

 Accessing the EP page.

You may get to the correct page to access these functions either by:

  • Selecting the ‘Kodexa’ Organization and selecting the Components tab.
  • (Admins only) Selecting ‘Share Components’ from the top-right drop-down menu and then selecting the Component tab.  
  •  You will then see the following grid. Your instance may have more or fewer extensions than are shown in the example.

Deploying a new EP

When a new EP becomes available, it must initially be deployed. The deploy screen looks like one of these two screens, depending on the deploy method needed by the EP and your Kodexa environment.    

 You will be provided the name and version of the extension pack, the deployment method to be used along with a monitoring URL, if needed, and the correct numbers of replicas or concurrency needed to correctly deploy.

When you’re ready, click the ‘Deploy’ button near the bottom-right of the popup screen.

Administration of existing EPs - The 3-dot menu

 This menu allows you to perform any of the listed functions.

View

  • For Advanced Users only. This function allows users to get an overview, see the coded for and activity of an extension. 

Deploy

  • This screen is nearly identical to a new deploy screen, but with all the details of a previously deployment filled in for you.  

 Undeploy

  • For some reason, it may be necessary to pause an extension. The Undeploy option does this without removing the EP from your environment.

Upgrade

  • This option allows for a new EP version to deploy, giving you a chance to alter the variables, and then automatically deleting the previous version.

Delete

  • This option deletes the EP from your environment. If this is done by accident, you can always just do a ‘new’ deploy of the EP in question.
Did this answer your question?